Peak District Mines Historical Society
Promoting and preserving mining heritage
(Registered charity No. 504662)

Introducing the Peak District Mines Historical Society

The Peak District Mines Historical Society was formed at a meeting held at Sheffield University on the 14th of February 1959 by a group of interested geologists at the University.

In 1976 a massive operation at Wills Founder Shaft, Winster, resulted in the recovery of a unique water pressure engine. This led directly to the opening of the Peak District Lead Mining Museum at Matlock Bath, where the engine is displayed along with many other artefacts and historical displays.

The Museum provides an interactive educational facility for all ages and visitors can also undertake a guided tour into the old fluorspar workings at Temple Mine, just across the road from the Museum and owned and managed by the Society. The impressive Pump Room is the primary venue for the Society's winter series of lectures, slide shows and video presentations which are generally very well attended.

Early in its history the Society acquired a lease of the surface remains at Magpie Mine, Sheldon. Over the last 40 years much effort, both in time and money, has gone into the preservation of the site. OurField Centre is located in the old Agent's Cottage and is available for use by members and their guests for a nominal fee.

Since its inception the Society has published a bi-annual Bulletin. This has grown into one of the leading journals of mining history, and circulates throughout the world.

Groups of members from within the Society are involved in a number of active projects, such as the Crich Lead Mining Display at the National Tramway Museum, conservation and archaeology work at High Rake (completed in 2008) and the recently-completed archaeological excavation and conservation programme at Silence Mine amongst others.

The Society also arranges regular underground meets, training sessions and mining history walks as well as hosting a series of winter lectures, slide shows and video presentations. There is always a calendar of current events to interest both the serious mine historian or researcher and the active underground explorer.

Having recently celebrated its 50th birthday, the Society has a large and thriving membership of both active and academic members, who are working together both above and below ground to record, preserve, explore and document the mines and mining history of the Peak District. 

Mining Heritage Walk: Bakewell and Ashford areas.

  • Dates: 01 – 01 Jan, 2017
  • Contact: Paul Chandler
  • Email: meets@pdmhs.com
  • Phone: 01246 220773
Leader: Paul Chandler.
Meet 10am Holme Lane, Bakewell (roadside parking).
This walk will visit the four main mines associated with the mining of Bakewell Chert and Ashford Black Marble. Briefly, the mining of chert was an altogether much larger industry, creating two quite extensive mines, with mining ceasing in 1968. The mining of Black Marble however, was a much older industry on a much smaller scale, and mining ceased around 1905. Interestingly, both the chert & black marble industries started as quarries, before underground mining took place.
An easy walk, using field paths (could be muddy in places), tracks, some road walking, one gradual ascent. Distance: 6.63 miles. Copy of walk route map available on request (please email Paul) and a few copies will also be available on the day. Bring usual walking equipment, a packed lunch & drink, OS Explorer Map White Peak area OL24 (optional).
Party size not limited. Booking is advisable in case of adverse weather(please include a phone number: landline or mobile). Joint meet with MidPeak Walks & Masson CG. References: Mining History Vol.13, No.5 Chert mining (click link to download PDF) and "Derbyshire Black Marble" by J M Tomlinson (PDMHS Special Publication No 4, 1996).